Ode to a Fonzie

You sneezed with such power
And ate like a loon
The thought of a shower
Made you howl at the moon

When dinner was ready
I was just set to nibble
You stood there so steady
With your purposeful dribble

Tail chasing round
Even when old
Never was found
Even when told

Sometimes I wonder
What you would say
If a magical thunder
Made a dog talking day

“Well thanks for the food
And the walkies dear sir
But don’t cook so nude
Plus tell that to her”

“I care not for leads
Or banishment outside
I’m a fantastical breed
This cannot be denied”

“Off to the shops you go
Just take me along
I’m quite helpful you know
At your side I belong”

“I’m sorry I poo
So often next door
Just fit a dog loo
On the ground floor”

“As best friends go
You’re the pick of the bunch
This will always be so
If you make me my lunch”

Photo courtesy of Jill Beninato at Flickr

The Identity of this lovely dog I gather is Clancy, a befitting symbol of Fonzie’s memory.

I have nee pics of Fonzie I’m afraid.

RIP you crazy mutt, I hope you’re sniffing a heavenly butt

About Matt

I love poems, I love stupid pointless not sure if the person really knows what they're writing about poems, that way who knows what might happen!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

11 Responses to Ode to a Fonzie

  1. bajanpoet says:

    This poem made me smile 😀 Loved it 🙂

    Thanks for popping by my page 🙂

  2. This is very sweet. I write this with my own loyal dog — Fred — at my feet.

  3. cloudycrochet says:

    AAAHHHH i love this! really enjoying your blog 🙂

  4. Evelyn says:

    “purposeful dribble”
    ha. cute…

  5. Ina says:

    🙂 Love it.

  6. I loved the playful rhymes, and I can identify as a former dog owner myself. I think there is a note of sadness underneath the humour and this is conveyed with a dogged enthusiasm. A great epitaph.

  7. Shyannah says:

    Ha! I love it! Definitely made me break out in a smile : ) Thanks!

  8. Genius!!!

    Sometimes I wonder
    What you would say
    If a magical thunder
    Made a dog talking day

    Oh how true – I think my pooch would be saying…
    lemme out
    lemme in
    lemme out
    lemme in
    and so on…….

Leave a Reply

